Two quotes from Facebook

Thanks Mike Powell for this:

“If you don’t like the so called ‘establishment’, fine – get up, get involved and do something about it.

If the only thing people do to protest is to vote for reactionary right-wing parties like UKIP or vote against a pan-European set-up that has played a critical part in bringing nations together around the table in a political environment instead of by the law of war, then fine.

But don’t complain when what we became is an embittered, inward looking, intolerant bastion for the angry, isolationist nationalist element in society that had a great time in Italy and Germany in the 1930s.

I’m a radical non-conformist. I hate the ‘status quo’ leadership of generations of political leaders. But I’ll accept the status quo over a reactionary fall-back to the ‘good old times’ of bigotry, racism and intolerance every day of the week.”

Thanks Karen Roberts for this one:

“Getting sick of people who keep telling me and others to “shut up” and “stop going on” whenever the subject of Europe comes up. I respect the fact that others had a different opinion to me, and voted to leave. It is their right to do so. But it is also my right, and that of others who wanted to remain, to say that I think the referendum result was the wrong one and to campaign to reverse it. That is democracy. Nobody has to read anything I say, but please don’t tell me I shouldn’t say it.”

2 thoughts on “Two quotes from Facebook

Leave a Reply

